Talenthouse/Villainous Things

Happy fucking fuck!

Welcome to 2012. Since 2011 decided to bail real quick it makes sense that the beginning of this year is already organised chaos that I have tidily but dangerously stacked in teetering piles around my bedroom/office/rape dungeon. Here’s some of the things on the top of the nearest pile I can see from the bedstation.

1. I NEED YOU TO VOTE FOR ME!

That’s right. More digital love is needed in order for me to break on through to the otha side. At the end of last year I started getting real arty with friend and accomplice Lizi Pratt. I started to produce watercolours – a medium I had once thought best left to Beatrix Potter or even Niamh Cusack who played Beatrix Potter in the ABC’s children show (and who was also married to Constable Nick on Heartbeat… swoon). The watercolours dealt with my usual subject matter – pretty ladies with something a little big wrong. I used photographs from the Vivienne Westwood Retrospective Catalogue and you can see them on my drawing page. Somewhere in the middle of that I found this competition. You design a piece of 7” Vinyl art for a specific band (I chose Florence + The Machine, CSS and The Cure) you submit it and then it could be used as the real deal for a Teenage Cancer Trust exhibition in London and you receive praise and fame from the four corners of the world. I like. Here is my piece for Florence’s ‘Only If For A Night’ – you can find the song below which should be listened to whilst viewing the art for optimum effect.

'Practical Phantasms' 2011 Watercolour and pencil on paper 7" x 7"

To SUPPORT ME follow the hyperlink to my Talenhouse profile. You can use Facebook to log in and then will be notified when voting opens on my individual pieces. Remember to both support and vote!

2. General Pants Co. and Me (A Tale of More Drawing and Frolicking in Henley).

Also – I got booked. General Pants commissioned me to create 3 artworks for 3 different pieces of clothing for the new 2012 line. I got a shirt from Wrangler, a dress from Alice In The Eve and a pair of cut-offs from Lee. Making the photographs and drawings was an incredible experience. I felt like the real deal and had a lot of fun. Also got to get more watercolour and pencil practice in which I loved. The pieces will be released on the 16th of this month so be sure to check out this here blog or my Facebook Page.

3. MARDI GRAS IS COMING.

If you don’t know about the projects I’m running with Shopfront for Mardi Gras ’12 then you need to investigate Necessary Ego and Late Night Shopping. There will be more events and details as they evolve. It’s looking very exciting so if you wanna come get arty in a Lynch meets America’s Next Top Model sorta way then you best sign up because places are filling up quick yo.

I think that’s all for now. I leave you with one of my favourite poems.

THIS IS JUST TO SAY
by William Carlos Williams
I have eaten
the plums
that were in
the icebox
and which
you were probably
saving
for breakfast
Forgive me
they were so delicious
so sweet
and so cold.

Jewels

Tom x

About T o m C h r i s t o p h e r s e n

Actor. Artist. Atrocity.
This entry was posted in Shopfront Arts, Theatre, Visual Art and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

